The Friends with Benefits

fwb

There is this new phenomenon going on, that they have even made the same movie two different times (we all realize that Friends with Benefits with Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis is the same movie as No Strings Attached with Ashton Kutcher and Natalie Portman) Friends with Benefits.

For those of you living under a rock – here is the basic concept of the friends with benefits.  You find someone, that you are either already friends with, or become friends with them, and you sleep together – BUT – you’re not in a relationship. So basically you do everything about a relationship, learn about them, hang out with them, have sex with them, but you’re not exclusively with them.

This is the part that baffles me.  How do people do this and not get attached?  I know, I know, that is the basic plot of the movies mentioned earlier, but really.  For me when I have hooked up with a guy, and don’t have a connection to them, that’s what makes things easier.  But if I knew the person and had any type of relationship – friendship or whatever – and then added sex to the picture.  I doubt that I would be able to separate the two.

I do realize that I am basically saying, that in order to avoid feelings I would rather sleep around with a bunch of random people one time, versus sleep with one person multiple times.  I mean if I were to know that I could start a relationship, then I would obviously choose one person.  But I don’t think I could sleep with a person on a regular basis, knowing that they wanted to have the option of sleeping with someone else.

This also brings me to the idea of threesomes, or open relationships.  I know they teach you to share when you are younger.  But a sexual partner – is not something I want to willing share….EVER! And I will also never be the girl that will be dating someone and then have my parter watch me with someone else…,that’s just weird too.

Leave a Reply

